T-minus 1 week until 15hr+ roadtrip!

So, yea, you read that right. In one week, on Saturday, we’ll be setting off to visit family over in Germany for a week. We’ve decided to drive, for different reasons, but that does include a 15 hour plus trip. 2 hours driving, 8 hours on the ferry from Harwich to the Hook of Holland, and then another 5 hours in Europe, but that doesn’t include breaks, or leaving extra time so we won’t be late for the ferry! So next Saturday could end up being very interesting. Wish us luck. 

We’ll be spending the first part of the week with Kibas Dad and his family, then move on to Kibas Mums. They live pretty close anyway, but we wanted to spend some time at each. We haven’t been over there in 3 years. They’ve not met Taya, and we’ve not met their youngest member, the kids cousin, who is half a year older than Taya. Kibas Dad has visited us in this time, but he unfortunately is now terminally ill, and we’re not sure how much longer he has, so it shall be a bittersweet visit, especially as Logan doesn’t know, he only knows he is very, very poorly. This enough upsets him greatly. This does make me quite nervous on how Logan will react, as he is such a sensitive little soul, but, I’m glad there will be many distractions and exciting times and experiences while we’re over there. If they leave my side that is. You know kids with people they don’t really know that well, they’re like little limpets. I’m hopeful that my two will have their shy moments, but then warm up quickly, I mean, there is lots of kids and animals to be around, what’s not to love? They’ll be the centre of attention though I’m sure. They’ll probably love it. 

This trip has really snuck up on me, I suddenly feel that it’s upon us before I’m ready, and I like to be prepared for things. Although I don’t think we’ll have to worry as much as I need to, with visiting family I don’t need to take towels, all our toiletries (shampoo etc), and we’ll have access to a washing machine if need be. With going in our own car I don’t have to worry about weight limits, car seats etc. So I’m lucky in those respects, but with the summer holidays started I’m going to be fitting getting ready around activities with the kids and their friends, and also have to have the heads up on clothes washing. I’ll have to put aside the clothes I want to take, to stop Logan wearing them, or putting Taya in them! When this comes to me we may have a problem. I have such a small selection of clothes I actually like to wear and think I look decent in that I may struggle on using the same technique. Luckily I’ll be seeing my mum the two days before we depart so some emergency last minute washing/tumble drying may occur! 
Now, how do you go keeping two children happy for 15 hours? Well, you tell me as I have no idea really! Personally I hope they sleep as much as possible when in the car. However I have started to get things together to help ease any boredom. First off there will be snacks, plenty of snacks, although I’m not a fan of them in the car due to the choking risk they’ll be a back up solution (and eaten on the ferry where I’m sure food will be expensive!). For Logan I’ve got a few activity and sticker books. I’ve also printed out loads of free printables and colouring pages that I found off pinterest. We have an I spy bingo game, and he’ll have a couple of books. Taya is slightly more difficult to cater for, she’ll be happy drawing or colouring on paper, and I’ve got to find a cheap sticker book that’ll be ruined (I’m a bit OCD about things like that!) and we’ll also be taking her magnetic drawing boards. Again, I’m hoping she’ll sleep mostly in the car. The ferry will be easier, as although we’re on there for 8 hours (eek!!) there is lots to do. On-board they have a cinema and play areas, shops, and lots of places to wander round and tire them out. Logan is looking forward to looking out for dolphins and basking sharks (let’s see how quickly he’ll get bored of that!). We’re not constrained to a seat so this is our biggest trump card, and the one reason we chose this route. Fingers crossed it’s a smooth crossing and they’re not sea sick, I’m the only one who’s been on a ferry before, so I’m sure they’ll all be very excited! 

However, and this is a big however, everything is all down to Kibas car. We’ve discovered this week that there is a problem with the clutch. A problem which could put our whole trip down the pan. A problem we can’t afford to fix, so we’re just hoping that it gets us to Germany, and back. So please keep your fingers crossed, and everything else I think, that his car survives! I shall keep you updated, I’m hoping to do a couple of blog posts while we’re there, and shall be sharing photos/updates on both Instagram and Facebook, so make sure you’re following us!

Photo shows Logan and one of his cousins on a walk in 2014.

Leave a Reply

